Commonwealth Local Government Forum

CLGF Board and Patrons 2020-22*

The Board is the main decision-making body of CLGF and meets formally, once a year. The members of the Board are elected by the general CLGF membership at the biennial General Meeting, which normally takes place alongside CLGF’s biennial conference. The Board is composed of representatives of local government associations, ministries of local government and local councils, with two seats reserved for associated members. The Secretary-General, the Honorary Treasurer and the Secretary-General Emeritus are ex-officio members of the Board. 

The Board elects a chairperson, who is always a representative of local government, and two vice-chairpersons: one from local government and one from central government. CLGF aims to ensure a geographical balance in these positions through regular rotation.




Cllr Rev Mpho MW Moruakgomo, former President, Botswana Association of Local Authorities (BALA).

Vice chairs

Hon Georges Elanga Obam, Minister of Decentralisation and Local Development, Cameroon.





Cllr Innocent Uwimana, Chairperson, Rwanda Association of Local Government Authorities (RALGA). 

Cllr Joseph Lomonyang, President, Uganda Association of Local Governrnent Authorities (ULGA). ***

Hon Jean Marie Vianney Gatabazi , Minister of Local Government, Rwanda.

Hon Raphael Magyezi MP, Minister of Local Government, Uganda. ***



Cllr Jeffery Sibisibi, President, Botswana Association of Local Authorities (BALA).
Cllr. Sade Gawanas, Mayor of Windhoek, Namibia ***

Hon Gary G Nkombo MP, Minister for Local Government and Rural Government, Zambia.

HRH Prince Simelane, Minister of Housing and Urban Development, eSwatini. *** 


Hon Bismark Basie Nkum, President, National Association of Local Authorities (NALAG).

Mr Joseph Bindi, President, Local Councils Association of Sierra Leone (LoCASL) ***
Hon Georges Elanga Obam, Minister Decentralisation and Local Development, Cameroon.

Hon Tamba Lamina, Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Sierra Leone *** 


Mayor Bernard Wagner, Mayor of Belize City, Belize.
Alderman Anthony Roberts, Chairman, Trinidad & Tobago Association of Local Government Authorities (TTALGA). ***

Mayor Joanne Vanderheyden, President of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, Canada.

Alternate: vacant

Hon Nigel Dharamlall, Minister of Local Governments, Guyana.

Hon Roslyn Paul, Minister of Social Services, Family and Gender Affairs, Dominica. *** 

Hon Clay Sweeting, Minister of Agriculture, Marine Resources and Family Island Affairs, the Bahamas

Hon Desmond McKenzie, Minister of Local Government and Community Development, Jamaica. ***



Hon Minister Roshan Ranasinghe, State Minister for Local Government, Sri Lanka.

Fozia Khalid Waraich, President, Local Councils Association of the Punjab, Pakistan. ***

Hon Minister Dato' Sri Reezal Merican bin Naina Merican, Malaysia.

Representative, Ministry of Urban Development, India. ***


Cllr Stuart Crosby, President, Local Government New Zealand (LGNZ).
Hon Boutu Bateriki, Minister of Internal Affairs, Kiribati. 

Alternate: vacant


Mayor Marvin Rees, Local Government Association of England and Wales, UK. 

Alternate: vacant

Hon Dr Owen Bonnici, Minister for National Heritage, the Arts and Local Government, Malta.
Hon Steven Linares, Minister of Sports, Culture, Heritage and Youth, Gibraltar. *** 


Members at large

Cllr Yoland Jno Jules, Chairperson, Dominica Association of Local Community Authorities (DALCA).
Vacant, Chairperson, South Africa Local Government Association (SALGA). 


Co-opted members
Hon Eric Molale, Minister of Local Government and Rural Development, Botswana.



Associate members

Dr Bhaskar Chakrabarti, Indian Institute of Management Calcutta, India. 
Prof Jaap de Visser, University of Western Cape, South Africa. ***
Professor Eris Schoburgh, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of the West Indies, Jamaica.
Dr Philip Amis, International Development Dept. University of Birmingham, UK. ***



Simon Baker, Hon Treasurer 
Lucy Slack, Secretary-General 

Dr Carl Wright, Secretary-General Emeritus



Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a sub-committee of the CLGF Board, established by the Board. It meets at least twice a year physically but up to four times a year virtually, and advises the Board on specific issues related to policy positions and budgets. The Executive Committee also monitors the implementation of the business plan, among other issues. It is composed of the CLGF Chairperson, the two Vice Chairpersons, up to 3 additional Board members in order to ensure representation from all the CLGF regions and types of member, and normally also a representative from the country hosting the next CLGF Conference. The Treasurer, the immediate past Chairperson and the Secretary-General are ex officio members of the Executive Committee.


Rev Mpho Moruakgomo, Chairperson


Vice Chair

Dr Elanga Obam Georges, Minister of Decentralisation and Local Development, Cameroon, Cameron



Mayor Bernard Wagner, Belize City Council.

Cllr Innocent Uwimana, President, Rwanda Association of Local Government Authorities (RALGA).
Mayor Marvin Rees, Local Government Association England and Wales (LGA), UK 

Hon Minister Dato' Sri Reezal Merican bin Naina Merican, Malaysia.



Simon Baker, Hon Treasurer UK (ex-officio)
Lucy Slack, Secretary-General (ex-officio)



Rt Hon Helen Clark, former New Zealand Prime Minister and UNDP adminstrator.
Hon Kausea Natano, Prime Minister, Tuvalu

*  As agreed by the Board, during its meeting in August 2020, the term of the Board and the Executive Committee shall be extended until the next Commonwealth Local Government Conference in 2022.

*** Alternate 

© CLGF 2022 : Privacy Policy